365 Days of Fibromyalgia

Take The Leap

September 22,2014

Leap

Matthew 14:28-31New International Version (NIV)

28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

This is one of the hardest things to do, and live by. There may be times you can step out with no question, but one thing could happen and all your faith goes away and you become afraid.

This is even tougher when you suffer from any chronic illness; being depression, anxiety, fibromyalgia and I name those because that’s what I’ve had all my life. I love God so much and there are times I can go strong and do anything because of Him and I know I will be okay. Then there moments when Fear, Worry, and Doubt creep in my mind and then Pain in my body holds me down to the point that I’m looking for a way out of everything in my life. I start to tell myself “I Can’t, This and that will happen, I won’t be able to do it.”
I can tell others to leap out there even though I’m afraid too. I take little steps and may turn around or just stop sometimes.
I have to learn that he has shown me and will continue to show me that he is there; always here with me and for me.
Jesus catches me all the time and I’m in tears right because I am in love with him so much and so thankful that he loves me back.
Evil tries to keep me down, but the Lord won’t allow it. The Lord always finds a way to get me back on track and on the right path.

When you begin to Leap without Fear it’s a powerful and freeing feeling.
Keep your eyes on Christ and never look away.

IMG_8630.JPG

Comments on: "Take The Leap" (5)

  1. Thank you so much for this post, it really spoke to me. I have dealt with depression most of my life and it can be really hard to stay positive, or even sane when you are in such a deep and dark crater of the mind. I deal with a lot of serious health problems as well and its hard to not let the depression take over when you dont even feel like you can function. The Savior is the only constant, the only help that can come and pull me out of that hole that my thoughts have dug myself into. Its an interesting phenomena when you take that step of faith and then all the fear and doubt comes rushing in. Faith is to have a complete trust and confidence in the Savior, fear is an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or is a threat. Its not easy but I have worked hard to recognize that when my faith starts to leave and the fear creeps in, it is because I am believing a thought that isn’t true and isn’t from God.
    There was one time when my depression was so bad I felt as though I had lost my ability to talk to people and carry a normal conversation. I was in such constant pain that I thought I made people uncomfortable. I was feeling so low, that I honestly believed that I made everyone feel awkward and no one could like me and I should just continue to stay inside and isolate myself. Every time I would try to take that leap of faith and try to leave and go to a party, or go hang out with my friends, all that fear would come rushing in and I would go back inside and wonder what was wrong with me.
    The more that I would pray and and ask God for comfort the more I came to realize that my thoughts were what was making me fear and my thoughts were completely wrong. God is my Father in Heaven, the Savior loves me soooo much and there is absolutely nothing wrong with me and He knows that, so I should have no problem having trust and confidence in him and that truthful knowledge.
    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, and we believe in the Bible as well as another book of scripture called the Book of Mormon which is a collection of the writings, testimonies and teachings of the ancient prophets on the American continent in ancient times. There is a scripture that brought me a lot of comfort when I was going through this hard time, and it is words from the prophet Lehi (a contemporary to the Prophet Jeremiah) who is speaking to his sons right before he is about to die, this is the council he gives them:
    “Wherefore, men are free according to the flesh; and all things are given them which are expedient unto man. And they are free to choose liberty and eternal life, through the great Mediator of all men, or to choose captivity and death, according to the captivity and power of the devil; for he seeketh that all men might be miserable like unto himself.
    And now, my sons, I would that ye should look to the great Mediator, and hearken unto his great commandments; and be faithful unto his words, and choose eternal life, according to the will of his Holy Spirit;
    And not choose eternal death, according to the will of the flesh and the evil which is therein, which giveth the spirit of the devil power to captivate, to bring you down to hell, that he may reign over you in his own kingdom.”
    This helped me so much to understand that I had a choice. I had a choice to choose to be happy and to listen to the good thoughts the truths, that God loves me very much and I am perfectly capable of doing things, I might not be able to do them as well as other people or the way that I like right away, but through his grace, mercy, and love I can do all things. Those other twisted and depressing thoughts came from the adversary, who was trying to tempt me with lies and make me think that way to bring me down even deeper into my depression. I am so grateful for this post and what you said. It helped a lot and definitely brightened up my day.

    Like

    • Thanks for expressing to me, your comment is truly a blessing to me. This is why I write, for moments like this when I help someone smile, not feel alone, etc. I’m always touched when someone says one of my post made them feel better. Thank you and bless you.

      Like

  2. No problem, Its so nice to know other people can relate to what Im going through. You dont have to answer if its too personal, but I was wondering if you noticed any huge notable changes in your life or the way you think after making the decision to let God into your life?

    Like

    • I have always been a strong believer in God but I’ve never been one to be in church. I think if I had of had that constant in my life my choices and actions would’ve been different. Overall my life was affected by others before I was old enough to even know what was going on. Etc… Last year I began thinking back and realized one problem I had was I feared everything but I didn’t fear God. So to answer your question, Yes a huge change in my thinking and look on life and love. I am able to bounce back more quickly now from the negativity, from pain. I learned how to be alone and not feel lonely. It has given me a sense of peace and freedom. Now I don’t have it all together, and I’m still working on the not stressing part, but I’m sure much better than I was and in a better place within myself. I have my own personal relationship with God and it feels good.

      Like

  3. I know what you mean. It is hard to not dwell on the negative side of things but it is so liberating to know that God is there and can help me out of it. Its hard to not feel lonely and even more isolated with your thoughts, but it really helps to know God is always there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

